Posted by: therenewingofyourmind | December 13, 2009

2 Corinthians 5:7

2 Corinthians 5:7

(For we walk by faith, not by sight:)

We live in a time when people are looking for signs or experiences, to prove their faith.  The problem is that we all have different experiences.  If we say that God is working because I saw this or I saw that, then another could come up and say they saw the opposite.  So then which one is right?  I have even heard grace believers come to me and say “well I know that God is doing a certain thing today because I saw it.”  If this is true, then what if I was in the same situation and God didn’t do the same thing?  Does this mean He doesn’t love me as much?  Does it mean that He is mad at me and punishing me?  As believers understanding right division and understanding that God has CHOSEN to work differently today with the body of Christ than He did in the past with the nation of Israel, we cannot try to claim the same things that were happening to them.  There are too many tragic things happening in the world, and we as matured believers ought to be able to help others understand that as much as we give glory to God for everything, He is not manipulating circumstances in our daily lives.  What God has done is He has given you his completed perfect word and the Holy Spirit to help you through these problems.  We do not say that God is working because of a circumstance but we know that God is working because of His word.  So let us not be like the rest of Christendom that is looking for miraculous signs to prove God is working, but lets us walk by FAITH in the completed word of God, rightly divided.

Rejoicing in Grace,

Keith

2 Cor 5:14-15

www.richesofgrace.com


Responses

  1. I read and enjoy your postings EVERY day…….and especially enjoyed today’s (Dec. 13) as my daughter believes that God orchestrates and causes each and every event in our lives……….and while I had made an attempt to understand Calvinism….and was actually saved out of JWs through the radio ministry of John MacArthur back in 1984………I , of course can no longer agree with MacArthur. I have attended Rick Jordan, Jr”s Assembly here in Az. for the past ten yrs. on and off…..and am attending pretty regularly right now…..
    I was introduced to right division back in the mid 90s from an elderly lady back in Illinois…….I have been vacillating all over the place these past yrs…….but am FINALLY settled down…….and my daughter and I have agreed to disagree on these things….
    I know this is way more than you want to hear……SORRY! But just wanted you to know that my morning is not complete without reading your devotional. At one time I had it send to my E Mail…….and then stopped it during one of my “tossed to and fro” times…….Thank you so much!!!!!!!!

    • Thank you Bebe, it is our honor to be able to minister to others, and I know how you feel about this subject and I to have many who disagree with me but that is okay.
      If you would like I can add you back on the email list.
      Also Rick Jr is GREAT!!! I love his preaching, it is my exhortation to you to stay involved in the ministry there and continue in the word.


Leave a comment

Categories